Latvian National Commission
Reg. No. 90000089305
Pils laukums 4 – 206,
Rīga, LV 1050
Phone: +371 67 325 109
Fax: +371 67 222 762
latvijas dargumi


The United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) was founded on November 16, 1945 with the aim to create an organization that would embody a genuine culture of peace. UNESCO’s mission is to contribute to the building of peace, the eradication of poverty, sustainable development and intercultural dialogue through education, the sciences, culture, communication and information.

The five Programme Sectors of UNESCO are Education, Natural Sciences, Social and Human Sciences, Culture, Communication and Information.

Education is the most comprehensive field of UNESCO’s competences. In particular UNESCO is providing international leadership to create learning societies with educational opportunities for all populations.

Culture is UNESCO’s field of competence that is linked with heritage values and diversity of cultural expression. In addition UNESCO reminds all States that placing culture at the heart of development policy constitutes an essential investment in the world's future and a pre-condition to successful globalization processes taking into account the principles of cultural diversity.

UNESCO"s mission in the field of Social and Human Sciences is to advance knowledge, standards and intellectual cooperation in order to facilitate social transformations conducive to the universal values of justice, freedom and human dignity.

Access to information and knowledge for all, the use of information technology as a stimulus to development and promotion of freedom of the press – these are the aims of UNESCO’s Communication and Information Programme. It is keeping an ever closer eye on the consequences of the rapid development of information and communication technologies. The demands of modern knowledge societies lie at the heart of the programme. Four goals are to be achieved in inclusive "knowledge societies": freedom of expression, access to information and knowledge, education for all and cultural diversity.